Social Navigation

A Reminder of the Craziness That Can Happen During Intentional Walks

Interesting, Wild and Crazy

If you’ve been following baseball lately, you’ll know that come rule changes have been implemented ahead of the 2017 season.

One of the biggest changes you’ll notice is that a pitcher need not actually throw four balls to intentionally walk a better. Instead, he (or the dugout) will simply signal to the umpire and the batter will be awarded first base.

The primary goal of this change is to get rid of the wasted and down time intentional walks tend to create. But the thing is they’re not always boring, are they?


ADVERTISEMENT

For one example, on May 27, 2013, Kelly Johnson took advantage of Evan Longoria’s intentional walk, by grabbing an extra base of his own:

I believe that’s what they call heads-up baseball. Although, considering that there were two outs and he was already in scoring position … I’m not sure it was really the right call.

But still … exciting! And that’s not the only one.


ADVERTISEMENT

For another even crazier example, Ole Miss’ Austin Meadows walked off on an intentional walk home run:

Did you see how mental the crowd in right field went after the realized what happened?

I guess, sometimes, intentional walks can be pretty entertaining …


SHARE:

Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami writes about MLB at Baseball Is Fun. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami.

Baseball is Fun Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Baseball is Fun is a private media site, and it is not affiliated in any way with Major League Baseball. Neither MLB nor any of its teams have endorsed, supported, directed, or participated in the creation of the content at this site, or in the creation of the site itself. It's just a media site that happens to cover MLB.