Social Navigation

When You Emphatically Ring Up A Batter … On Strike Two

Funny and Happy, Interesting

Earlier this season, umpire CB Bucknor took some heat for making one of the worst “foul-tip” calls at the very end of the Nationals/Braves game (forcing the Nats to effectively get the third out twice). However, that wasn’t his first oopsie.

Watch as he punches out Seth Smith with one of the more audible “Striiiiiiike Three!” calls you’ll ever hear on a TV broadcast (from back in 2013):

Fortunately, the mistake was corrected and Smith got another pitch (though he promptly grounded out to the shortstop).

I’m glad Bucknor laughs it off – effectively taking responsibility for his mistake – but yeesh … don’t let that happen too often.


ADVERTISEMENT


SHARE:

Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami writes about MLB at Baseball Is Fun. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami.

Baseball is Fun Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Baseball is Fun is a private media site, and it is not affiliated in any way with Major League Baseball. Neither MLB nor any of its teams have endorsed, supported, directed, or participated in the creation of the content at this site, or in the creation of the site itself. It's just a media site that happens to cover MLB.